e-commerce in Bangladesh

Sunday, May 24, 2009

Twenty20 World Cup 2009: South Africa Squad

On May 4, South Africa announced their final squad for the upcoming ICC twenty20 world cup 2009. The tournament begins on 5 June in England. After reading the names of the South African squad for twenty20 world cup, the first thing that has come to my mind is the presence of at least 5-6 quality all roudners who are equally capable of contributing to the team’s success either with bat or with ball. These all rounders are: Jean-Paul Duminy, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Robin Peterson, Roelof van der Merwe and vice captain Johan Botha. When it comes to twenty20 format of the game, you must consider Botha as an effective all rounder.

Let us now look at South Africa’s batting line up. First of all, the squad includes hard-hitting batsmen like Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, captain Graeme Smith, Albie Morkel, wicketkeeper batsman Mark Boucher, young all rounder Jean-Paul Duminy, who played a big part in South Africa’s recent triumph over Australia and Roelof van der Merwe. All of them fit excellent well to the shortest version of the game. Jacques Kallis is also there to add experience to the squad. Though it is true that Justin Ontong has been in excellent form in domestic cricket, I am not sure if he would be able to fit into the twenty20 format well.

Unlike many other teams, South African squad has a number of options in their spin attack. Led by off spinner Botha, South Africa’s spin attack also features off spinner Jean-Paul Duminy as well as two left-arm spinners: Robin Peterson and Roelof van der Merwe. Captain Graeme Smith’s occasional spin bowling has been effective on a number of occasions. Their pace attack is also very strong. They have pacers like Dale Steyn, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel and Jacques Kallis. Besides these experienced pacers, the squad also features young talented pacer Yusuf Abdulla who has excelled recently in domestic cricket.

South African Squad for ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009

Graeme Smith (Captain), Johan Botha (Vice-Captain), Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Yusuf Abdulla, Mark Boucher (Wicketkeeper), Morne Morkel, AB Devilliers, Jean-Paul Duminy, Dale Styen, Roelof van der Merwe, Justin Ontong, Robin Peterson.

No comments:

Post a Comment