e-commerce in Bangladesh

Sunday, May 24, 2009

ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009: New Zealand Squad

The second twenty20 world cup will kick off from 5 June 2009 in England and all the 12 participating teams have already announced their squads for the tournament. New Zealand selectors named 15-member twenty20 squad for the ICC twenty20 world cup 2009 on 7 April 2009. Led by Daniel Vettori, the squad does not include any player who has not represented New Zealand at international level. The only player who has not played any twenty20 international for New Zealand is Brendon Diamanti, who debuted against Australia in ODI in February 2009 and was part of the twenty20 squad in that tour.

Wicketkeeper batsman Peter McGlashan, James Franklin, Kyle Mills and Scott Styris were recalled to the twenty20 squad. New Zealand batting line up features the hard-hitters like Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor, Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Jacob Oram and Styris. Moreover, there are talented batsmen like McGlashan, all rounder Nathan McCullum, Neil Broom and all rounder Diamanti.

To tell the truth, New Zealand batting line up is pretty much strong and I think this squad can go all the way to win the tournament in the presence of a very strong batting line up. New Zealand squad also features a good spin attack which is led by Captain Daniel Vettori. All round Nathan McCullum’s off spin would also be very effective. There are a number of options for their pace attack available in the squad including James Franklin, Kyle Mills, Iain O'Brien, Oram, Styris, Diamanti, Ian Butler and Ryder. I am really impressed to see the number of all rounders named in the New Zealand squad including Oram, Ryder, Styris, Nathan McCullum and Diamanti. You can not raise any question regarding the strength of a squad which includes 5 quality all rounders out of 15 players.

New Zealand Squad for ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009

Daniel Vettori (captain), Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Brendon Diamanti, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (WK), Nathan McCullum, Peter McGlashan, Kyle Mills, Iain O’Brien, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Scott Styris and Ross Taylor.

No comments:

Post a Comment