e-commerce in Bangladesh

Sunday, May 24, 2009

Twenty20 World Cup 2009: Sri Lanka Squad

ICC Twenty20 world cup 2009 will be the first major tournament for wicketkeeper-batsman Kumar Sangakkara as the captain of the team. Sri Lankan selectors named the 15-men squad for ICC world twenty20 which will start from 5 June in England.

There is just one uncapped player- Isuru Udana. Udana is a pacer all rounder who has been in excellent form both with ball and bat. Selectors also called up 35-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman Indika de Saram who is an effective batsman for twenty20 format mainly because of his excellent domestic record in the shortest version of the game. He could also be a reserve for regular wicketkeeper Sangakkara.

Sri Lankan squad includes the big hitters like Sanath Jayasuria, Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Farveez Maharoof and Jehan Mubarak. Moreover, there are quality middle order batsmen in former captain Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Silva and Angelo Mathews.

Spin department is the main strength of Sri Lanka’s bowling attack. Led by legendary off spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, their spin attack also features mystery spinner Ajantha Mendis as well as effective off spinner Dilshan. Sanath Jayasuria’s left arm spin brings a much-needed variation in their spin attack.

Sri Lankan squad has some talented pacers, but lacks experience in their pace attack. 24-year-old Farveez Maharoof and 25-year-old Lasith Malinga are the most experienced pacers in the squad. However, there are some talented pacers like Kulasekara and Thushara who are capable of delivering their best whenever given the chances. Mathews and uncapped Udana are the two more options in their pace attack.

Sri Lanka’s big hitters like Sangakkara, Jayasuria and Dilshan could help them to bring out some excellent success in the tournament. Players like Jayasuria, Maharoof, Mathews and Udana could perform both with bat and ball, and that would be a big thing for the Lankans in twenty20 world cup 2009.

Sri Lanka Squad for ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009

Kumar Sangakkara (c), Muttiah Muralitharan (vc), Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Silva, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Isuru Udana, Farveez Maharoof, Jehan Mubarak, Indika de Saram.

No comments:

Post a Comment