e-commerce in Bangladesh

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009: Netherlands Squad

It has been more than a decade Netherlands has come into international arena through the 1996 ICC World Cup. However, Dutch side could not make any giant leap in world cricket yet, but they remained as one of the striking force outside top ten test playing nations. Netherlands was one of the finalists of the qualifying tournament of ICC twenty20 world cup alongside Ireland, but the main did not take place due to rain, but both teams got the tickets of ICC Twenty20 world cup 2009 which will start from 5 June 2009 in England.

Netherlands announced their 15-member twenty20 squad for the tournament on 4 May. The squad includes a number of players who plays in county cricket in England. There are a number of quality players like left arm pacer Dirk Nannes, who currently plays for Victoria and Delhi Daredevils of IPL. Opener Darron Reekers is a hard hitting batsman, while all rounder Mudassar Bukhari is another batsman who can hit the ball hard among the Netherlands cricketers.

Ryan ten Doeschate is perhaps the most important batsman who plays for Essex. No doubt, he has to play a big role if the Dutch wants to show some impressive performance in the upcoming tournament. The squad features some other batsmen including Captain Jeroen Smits, Eric Szwarczynski, Alexie Kervezee, who is the youngest member of the squad, Bas Zuiderent and Tom de Grooth.

Netherlands pace attack includes Nannes, Edgar Schiferli, Maurits Jonkman, Ruud Nijman and Peter Borren, while their spin attack features leg spinner Daan van Bunge and left arm spinner Pieter Seelaar. Jeroen Smits will keep the wicket, but there is a reserve keeper in Zuiderent.

Netherlands is in Group B alongside England and Pakistan. Their twenty20 world cup mission starts on 5 June with the match against England. The Dutch will face Pakistan on 9 June.

Netherlands Squad for ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009

Jeroen Smits (c), Ryan ten Doeschate, Darron Reekers, Eric Szwarczynski, Alexie Kervezee, Bas Zuiderent, Tom de Grooth, Dirk Nannes, Edgar Schiferli, Pieter Seelaar, Maurits Jonkman, Ruud Nijman, Peter Borren, Mudassar Bukhari and Daan van Bunge

No comments:

Post a Comment