e-commerce in Bangladesh

Sunday, May 24, 2009

Twenty20 World Cup 2009: England Squad

England squad for ICC Twenty20 world cup 2009 squad was announced on 1 May 2009. The tournament kicks off on 5 June in England. Naturally, England cricket fans are expecting the home team to show some good performance and win the second edition of twenty20 world cup.

England selectors formed a balanced squad which features a number of big hitters like Captain Paul Collingwood, former captain Kevin Pietersen, Andrew Flintoff, Graham Napier, Luke Wright and Dimitri Mascarenhas. Irish batsman Eoin Morgan, who recently played his first match for England in the ODI series against West Indies, is also in the squad to show his batting talent. Owais Shah has enough experience and he could be an effective performer for England, but twenty20 may not be the perfect platform for Shah. However, all rounder Andrew Flintoff is doubtful for the twenty20 world cup due to his knee injury. However, Bopara, who has been in sparkling form recently, Collingwood and Pietersen are expected to play a big part behind England’s success in the tournament.

The main strength of England squad is the presence of a number of all rounders like Flintoff, Collingwood, Mascarenhas and Napier. England pace attack includes James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Collingwood, Flintoff, Ryan Sidebottom and Graham Napier. England squad features Graeme Swann as the only specialist spinner. However, there are some occasional spinners like Kevin Pietersen. James Foster will keep the wicket and his batting ability could also be effective for England.

England Squad for ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009

Paul Collingwood (Captain), Ravi Bopara, Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Andrew Flintoff, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Eoin Morgan, James Foster (Wicketkeeper), Robert Key, Graham Napier, Luke Wright, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann.

No comments:

Post a Comment