e-commerce in Bangladesh

Saturday, June 06, 2009

ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009: 15 Men Indian Squad

Indian team for the ICC World Twneyt20 2009 has been announced today and there is no new face in the squad. The 15-member squad does not include the veteran players like Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid. Sachin Tendulkar was in the contention, but the star batsman pulled himself out of the tournament. Pacer Rudra Pratap Singh and left arm spinner Pragyan Ojha have been recalled to Indian twenty20 squad on the back of their excellent form of recent. Both of them are currently representing Deccan Chargers in the ongoing IPL 2009 tournament. With 10 wickets, RP Singh is now the highest wicket taker in the IPL among the Indian bowlers, while Ojha takes up the second place among the Indian bowlers in the tournament.

Rudra Pratap Singh, who was the second most wicket taker with 12 wickets in the inaugural tweny20 world cup in South Africa in 2007, was instrumental behind India’s triumph in 2007 T20 world cup. Ojha has also done very well recently and his inclusion in the second spinner’s slot can not be questioned anyway. However, Harbhajan Singh will lead India’s spin attack in the 2009 T20 world cup, which kicks off from 5 June in England.

Six players from India’s 2007 twenty20 world cup winning team were left out. They are: Ajit Agarkar, Joginder Sharma, Sreesanth, Robin Uthappa and Piyush Chawla. India’s pace attack includes Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, R P Singh and Irfan Pathan, while their spin attack features specialist spinner Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha and Yusuf Pathan, alongside the occasional spinners like Ravindra Jadeja, Yuvraj Sing and Virender Sehwag. There are two excellent all rounders in Irfan Pathan and Yusuf Pathan.

India’s batting line up features Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, vice captain Virender Sehwag, opener Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh and Rohit Sharma in the 15-member squad. It seems to be a pretty strong batting line up, and in the presence of two all rounders, India also has enough depth in their batting.

Here, I am giving the names of 15-man Twenty20 world cup squad of India:

Indian Squad for ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, R P Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Pragyan Ojha and Irfan Pathan.

No comments:

Post a Comment