e-commerce in Bangladesh

Monday, July 21, 2008

Sri Lanka Squad for the First Test Announced

The much awaiting first test of the three-match test series between India and Sri Lanka kicks off from 23 July 2008 at the Sinhalese Sports Club in Colombo. Cricket fans are waiting for the first test looking for an exciting test series between the sub-continent’s two leading sides.

Sri Lankan squad for the test has been unveiled recently and Sri Lanka’s mew miracle, spinner Ajantha Mendis, has been given a place in the 14-memebr squad for the first test. Now, it seems to be a matter of time the 23-year old will be handed his test debut against India in the first test of the series. The unorthodox bowler was in the forefront of Sri Lanka’s 100-run victory over India in the Asia Cup final 2008 with an incredible figure of 6 for 13. Since then, Mendis has become a regular name in the newspaper headlines and it is expected that Indian batsmen are seriously considering this emerging star of Sri Lankan cricket. Mendis will team up with legendary bowler Muttiah Muralitharan to make a seemingly lethal spin attack for any side.

For batting, Sri Lanka has a strong batting line up including two experienced batsmen: Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakara. The other four top order batsmen are expected to be Michael Vandort, Malinda Warnapura, Thilan Samaraweera and either Chamara Silva or Tillakaratne Dilshan, besides the wicketkeeper batsman Prasanna Jayawardene. However, Sri Lanka has some problems in their pace department with three pacers being injured out. Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga and Farveez Maharoof are recovering from injuries. Though it was expected that Fernando would share the new ball with experienced Chaminda Vaas, a knee-injury during the three-day match against India ruled Dilhara Fernando out of the first test. Now, either Thilan Thushara or Nuwan Kulasekara would step into the first eleven of the first test to team up with Vaas.

I think, Sri Lankan teams looks balanced and it would not be very easy for the Indians to outclass the Sri Lankan side at their home soil. Here, I am giving the names of the first test squad of Sri Lanka:

14-member Sri Lanka squad for the first test:

Michael Vandort, Malinda Warnapura, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Prasanna Jayawardene (wk), Chaminda Vaas, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Chamara Kapugedera

No comments:

Post a Comment